April is Christian Book Month

So I found out on IG that April is Christian Book Month. I had no idea that such a thing existed.

I want to share three books I probably won’t finish this month but will be part of my spring reading. I apologize for the size of the photos . I haven’t figured out how to shrink photos.

The book I’m currently reading is Daughters of Eve/Daughters of God by Brenda Weaver

The front cover description says:Inspiration for women desiring to grow in godliness. This is something I struggle because I truly want my life to glorify God but I often fail and then I feel defeated.

Next is A Woman by God’s Grace by Anna Mary Byler which is part of The Godly Woman series. This book’s back cover description: “Anna Mary Byler spells out the practical aspects of this life. On page after page she calls wives and mothers to consider the graces that crown mundane responsibilities with resplendent success and eternal satisfaction.” That description alone makes me think about how much I complain to the Lord about about cleaning my home, running errands etc. Mrs. Byler has at least two other books in the The Godly Woman series. “A Woman for God’s Glory” and “A Woman From God’s Perspective”.

Last is Flourish by Dorcas Showalter. Her front cover says: A journey to abundant hope in marriage and motherhood. Though I think Flourish is written to younger wives and mothers, older women could benefit from this book too. All three books are available at Christian Light Publishers. http://www.clp.org

I hope you find some good Christian books to read this month. Whether it be fiction or nonfiction just enjoy reading. I do offer a word of caution when it comes to Christian books.

Please use discernment in what you read. There are many false teachers out there who should be marked and avoided. One way I use discernment is if a book I’m interested in is written by someone who has ever been or is labeled a false teacher I will research the author to find out why he or she is labeled as such. I usually go through these authors with “A fine tooth comb” if you will. Many times I had been dismayed at what I find out about some of these popular Christian authors.

So please do your research and check anything you read and see if it lines up with the Bible.

8 thoughts on “April is Christian Book Month

  1. They all look like very good books. We just recieved Jacks Hibbs newest book. I don’t remember the title right off. Dennis is almost finished with it and says it’s very good so I’ll read it next. It’s non-ficture and I believe it’s about current events.

    Have a lovely Thursday my friend.
    Blessings,
    Betsy

    Like

  2. Some very interesting titles there Regina, and some great comments you have shared.

    I spent quite a few years running a Christian Bookshop, and have never heard of April being Christian Book Month. But then it is a while since I have been involved.

    Blessings

    Maxine

    Like

  3. I don’t think I’ve heard of Jack Hibbs. A friend did recommend Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis. We have it here and will be added to my TBR list.

    Like

  4. Jack is the pastor at Calvary Chapel Chino Hills. He’s the man who gave the prayer at Congress last month that caused such a stir. He actually mentioned God the Father, Jesus our Saviour and forgiveness of sins. Apparently that’s not allowed. Most of his prayer was from previous prayers by our early Presidents. This country has slipped so far downwards that we aren’t allowed to pray in Congress to the Lord of all creation using words from past Presidents.

    Blessings,

    Betsy

    Like

  5. WOW, I didn’t know this even existed. It’s good to hearing something meaningful and honorable for a change. All these other worldly interest groups hijacking every month for something senseless and evil is more and more irritating. Jesus come back soon.

    Like

  6. Thank you, Regina! My library actually had “A Woman By God’s Grace”! Wonderful:). I always need all the help I can get! I have been made very uncomfy with so-called “Christian romance” books, so I think I’ve given up on fiction. One book, although “historical”, had a 13 year old being secretly pursued by a 20 year old man. I don’t care what year it is, that was not for me:(. Thanks for this post:).

    Like

Leave a comment